KOREA GREEN INNOVATION DAYS SPRING 2022

KOREA GREEN INNOVATION DAYS SPRING 2022

In collaboration with Korea’s Ministry of Economy and Finance  (MOEF), the Korea Green Growth Trust Fund (KGGTF) is delighted to host Korea Green Innovation Days (KGID) Spring 2022 on May 2-11 (EDT). The event aims to provide a platform for World Bank project teams to hear about innovative green growth solutions and practices and connect with knowledge partners for potential collaboration and learning. It will also help World Bank teams interested in the KGGTF 2022 Call for Proposals to strengthen the design of their proposals and increase their funding chances. Both the KGID Spring 2022 event and the KGGTF 2022 Call for Proposals are focused on implementation of the Bank’s Green, Resilient, and Inclusive Development (GRID) strategy.

KGID Spring 2022 is a week-long virtual event with a series of plenary and parallel Breakout Sessions where World Bank teams and knowledge partners come together to network, explore ideas, and discuss ways to develop cutting-edge solutions to green growth challenges worldwide. A special opening session led by Korea Export-Import Bank will introduce co-financing opportunities through the Korea Economic Development Fund (EDCF).

Sectors Covered

Sectors

Opening Session

Opening Session | May 2 8:00 AM (EDT) / May 2 9:00 PM (KST)

Opening Remarks 
  • Richard Damania, Chief Economist, Sustainable Development, World Bank

  • Jun Ho Shin, Director, Development Finance Division, Ministry of Economy and Finance, Korea 

Introduction of 2022 Call for Proposals and Grant Selection Process
  • Hyoung Gun Wang, KGGTF Program Manager, World Bank

Co-financing with Korea’s Economic Development Cooperation Fund (EDCF) 

Overview of EDCF, Project Coordination, and Co-Financing Application Procedures within the World Bank

  • Seo-young Lee, Program Manager, MDB Operation Department, Korea Export-Import Bank

  • Daksha Shakya, Operations Officer, EDCF-World Bank Co-financing Facility, World Bank

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP
Breakout Sessions, Parallel

May 2 7:30~9:00 PM (EDT) / May 3 8:30~10:00 AM (KST)

Land Administration and Spatial Information Projects in LX | URL

Introduction of overseas projects and possible collaboration opportunities

Organizer – Korea Land and Geospatial Informatix Corporation (LX)

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP

May 2 7:30~9:00 PM (EDT) / May 3 8:30~10:00 AM (KST)

KEITI-WB Joint Technical Assistance Programs | ENB

KEITI-WB Joint technical assistance programs and potential collaboration

Organizer – Korea Environmental Industry and Technology Institute (KEITI)

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP
Breakout Sessions, Parallel

May 3 8:00~9:30 AM (EDT) / May 3 9:00~10:30 PM (KST)

KIAT-WB Collaboration Projects in 2023 | EEX

Presentation on 2022 KIAT-WB collaboration projects and discussion for 2023 projects

Organizer – Korea Institute for Advancement of Technology (KIAT)   

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP

May 3 7:30~9:00 PM (EDT) / May 4 8:30~10:00 AM (KST)

Real Estate Mass Valuation and Land Compensation | URL

Korea’s experience in land valuation and compensation and overseas projects

Organizer – Korea Real Estate Board (REB)

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP
Breakout Sessions, Parallel

May 4 8:30~10:00 AM (EDT) / May 4 9:30~11:00 PM (KST)

Self-sustainable Road Infrastructure | ITR

Sustainable road infrastructure using renewable energy and information technology

Organizer – Korea Expressway Corporation (KEC)

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP
Breakout Sessions, Parallel

May 5 7:30~9:00 PM (EDT) / May 6 8:30~10:00 AM (KST)

Global PPP Projects & Speed Enhancement for Faster and Safer Railways | ITR

Overview of Korea’s railway development and key international projects

Organizer – Korea National Railway (KNR)

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP
Breakout Sessions, Parallel

May 9 7:30~9:00 PM (EDT) / May 10 8:30~10:00 AM (KST)

WB and KEPCO’s Collaboration for Carbon Neutrality | EEX

Carbon neutrality and net zero projects and international cooperation

Organizer – Korea Electric Power Corporation (KEPCO)

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP

May 9 9:00~10:30 PM (EDT) / May 10 10:00~11:30 AM (KST)

Offshore Wind Development in Vietnam | EEX

Cooperation between Korea and the World Bank in offshore wind development

Organizer – Energy and Extractives Global Practice, World Bank

Invitation Only

RSVP

May 9 8:00~9:30 AM (EDT) / May 9 9:00~10:30 PM (KST)

Empowering Leaders in Urban Transport Planning in Greater Cairo | ITR

Green transformation of mobility and empowering leaders in urban transport planning

Organizer – Infrastructure and Transport Global Practice, World Bank

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP
Breakout Sessions, Parallel

May 10 2:00~3:30 AM (EDT) / May 10 3:00~4:30 PM (KST)

Urban Resilience and Revitalization | URL                 

Introduction of LH, carbon reduction policies, and best practices

Organizer – Korea Land and Housing Corporation (LH)

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP

May 10 8:00~9:30 AM (EDT) / May 10 9:00~10:30 PM (KST)

Sustainable and Resilient Transport Development through ODA Programs | ITR

Green ODA projects of the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport of Korea

Organizer – International Contractors Association of Korea (ICAK)

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP

May 10 8:00~9:30 PM (EDT) / May 11 9:00~10:30 AM (KST)

Sustainable Forest Management in Response to Climate Change | ENB

Future collaboration programs and projects between AFoCO and the World Bank

Organizer – Korea Forest Service (KFS), Asian Forest Cooperation Organization (AFoCO)

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP
Breakout Sessions, Parallel

May 11 8:00~9:00 AM (EDT) / May 11 9:00~10:00 PM (KST)

Supporting GRID in the Water Sector | WTR

Overview of GRID approaches and experiences in the water sector

Organizer – Water Global Practice, World Bank

---------------------------

Watch the Session

RSVP

KGGTF Intro